How to start an ABA practice in Alaska
Alaska requires a Behavior Analyst license; Assistant Behavior Analyst license from Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development — Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (Behavior Analyst Program) to operate an ABA practice. Fee: $325. Processing time: Renewal applications: plan on 4–6 weeks for complete applications (per renewal form). Initial processing time not stated.
- License required
- YesBehavior Analyst license; Assistant Behavior Analyst license
- Application fee
- $325
- Processing time
- —
- One-on-one ABA therapy by a technician
- $31.95per 15 min · $127.80/hr
- Organizations in the state
- 43NPPES, Sep 13, 2026
On this page
Alaska aba provider license
Alaska requires a Behavior Analyst license; Assistant Behavior Analyst license from Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development — Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (Behavior Analyst Program) to operate an ABA practice. Fee: $325. Processing time: Renewal applications: plan on 4–6 weeks for complete applications (per renewal form). Initial processing time not stated.
- License required
- Yes
- License
- Behavior Analyst license; Assistant Behavior Analyst license
- Fee
- $325
- Fee details
- Behavior analyst by examination: $150 nonrefundable application fee + $100 license fee + $75 fingerprint processing = $325. Assistant behavior analyst by credentials: $150 + $50 license fee + $75 fingerprint = $275.
- Renewal
- Every 2 years · Biennial renewal: behavior analyst $100, assistant $50 (prorated $50 / $25 for licenses first issued on or after October 1, 2025). Licenses expire September 30 of even-numbered years.
- Processing time
- Renewal applications: plan on 4–6 weeks for complete applications (per renewal form). Initial processing time not stated.
- Professional license
- board: Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (no separate board); statute: AS 08.15; 12 AAC 77; fees at 12 AAC 02; behavior analyst: License required to practice; based on BACB certification, application, fingerprint background check.; assistant behavior analyst: Separate license; BCaBA certification and proof of direct supervision.; technician: No state license. AS 08.15.070 exempts individuals who directly implement ABA under the direction of a licensed behavior analyst or assistant. For Medicaid, an autism behavior technician must enroll as a rendering provider and hold a current RBT registration or another approved technician credential.; medicaid enrollment: Under 7 AAC 135.300, Medicaid pays for autism (ABA) services by an enrolled behavior analyst (independent provider, state license, current BACB certification), an enrolled assistant behavior analyst (rendering), or an enrolled autism behavior technician (rendering, with RBT or comparable credential). Rates are on the Department of Health autism services fee schedule.
- Regulation
- AS 08.15.010–.990; 12 AAC 77; 7 AAC 135.300–.350
Steps to get licensed in Alaska
In order, as the licensing agency describes the process.
- Obtain BACB certification (BCBA, or BCaBA for assistants)
- Submit the division's application with fees and an FD-258 fingerprint card
- Assistants: show proof of direct supervision by a licensed behavior analyst
- Renew biennially by September 30 of even-numbered years
What you need to submit
4 documents listed by the licensing agency.
Staffing and training requirements
- Staffing
- Assistant behavior analysts may only practice under the direct supervision of a licensed behavior analyst (AS 08.15.020)
Enrolling as a Alaska Medicaid provider
- Program
- Alaska Medicaid (Alaska Medical Assistance)
- Fiscal agent
- HMS Gainwell (Gainwell Technologies) — provider enrollment and fiscal agent services; the Health Enterprise MMIS is a Conduent system
- Application fee
- Alaska requires group providers and sole proprietors to pay the application fee (with an attestation form) at enrollment and again at revalidation, subject to the federal exceptions; a hardship waiver can be requested with a justification letter and financial records. Federal rule (42 CFR 455.460): the state must collect the CMS application fee from institutional providers that are newly enrolling or re-enrolling; individual physicians and non-physician practitioners are exempt, as are providers already enrolled in (or that already paid the fee to) Medicare or another state's Medicaid/CHIP. CMS set the fee at $750 for calendar year 2026.
- Fingerprinting
- Federal rule (42 CFR 455.434, 455.450(c)): providers the state places in the 'high' categorical risk level, and anyone owning 5% or more of such a provider, must submit fingerprints for a criminal background check.
- Site visit
- Alaska applies pre- and post-enrollment site visits to moderate- and high-risk group providers and sole proprietors at enrollment, revalidation and service-location changes; the site-visit date feeds into the enrollment effective date. Federal rule (42 CFR 455.432, 455.450(b)-(c)): the state must do site visits before and after enrollment for providers in the 'moderate' or 'high' risk levels, and any enrolled provider must allow unannounced on-site inspections.
- Revalidation
- Alaska sets each provider's revalidation timing by its risk level; providers that miss their due date have payments held until the revalidation is processed. Federal rule (42 CFR 455.414): every enrolled provider must be revalidated at least once every 5 years.
Does Alaska require a certificate of need?
- CON program
- Yes
- Program
- Certificate of Need
- Services covered
- hospitals (including psychiatric and tuberculosis hospitals)
- skilled nursing facilities / nursing home beds
- intermediate care facilities
- residential psychiatric treatment centers
- ambulatory surgical facilities
- kidney disease treatment centers / freestanding dialysis
- independent diagnostic testing facilities
Alaska wage floor
- State minimum wage
- $14.00 an hour
- Effective
- 2026-07-01
- Scheduled increases
- Rises to $15.00 on 2027-07-01 under Ballot Measure 1 (2024); annual inflation adjustments begin 2028-01-01.
- HCBS 80/20 rule
- Federal baseline: 42 CFR 441.302(k) requires the state to show that each provider spends at least 80% of Medicaid payments for homemaker, home health aide and personal care services under 1915(c) waivers on direct care worker pay and benefits. Compliance starts 2030-07-09 (for managed care, the first rating period starting on or after that date); annual payment-adequacy reporting under 441.311(e) starts 2028-07-09. A state may set a lower share for state-defined small providers and exempt providers facing hardship, each only through a public notice-and-comment process. The eCFR text has not changed since 2024-07-09. No state-published 80/20 implementation step (small-provider criteria, hardship exemption or reporting guidance) was found for this state in the official sources reviewed.
Alaska market size
Counts from federal public files: NPPES (active organization NPIs), CMS Care Compare and CMS Medicaid enrollment.
- Applied behavior analysis organizations — active organization NPIs (NPPES)
- 43 (as of Sep 13, 2026)
- Total Medicaid and CHIP enrollment (latest reported month)
- 206,739 (as of Jun 1, 2026)
What Alaska Medicaid pays
Applied behavior analysis (ABA): published Alaska fee-for-service rates, each linked to its source.
| Service | Code | Alaska rate | Per hour | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| One-on-one ABA therapy by a technicianBehavior technician | 97153 | $31.95per 15 min | $127.80 | 1 of 42 |
| ABA therapy with plan changes by an analystBehavior analyst | 97155 | $41.97per 15 min | $167.88 | 2 of 41 |
| ABA assessment by a behavior analystBehavior analyst | 97151 | $41.97per 15 min | $167.88 | 7 of 41 |
| ABA parent and caregiver trainingBehavior analyst | 97156 | $41.97per 15 min | $167.88 | 3 of 43 |
| Group ABA therapy led by a technicianBehavior technician | 97154 | $11.47per 15 min | $45.88 | 10 of 37 |
Alaska HCBS waivers
Medicaid home and community-based services programs that may pay for this service.
- Alaskans Living Independently (1915(c))
- Adults with Physical and Developmental Disabilities Waiver (1915(c))
- Children with Complex Medical Conditions Waiver (1915(c))
- Community First Choice (CFC) (1915(k))
- Individualized Supports Waiver (1915(c))
- People with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Waiver (1915(c))
Frequently asked questions
Do you need a license to start an ABA practice in Alaska?
Alaska requires a Behavior Analyst license; Assistant Behavior Analyst license from Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development — Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (Behavior Analyst Program) to operate an ABA practice. Fee: $325. Processing time: Renewal applications: plan on 4–6 weeks for complete applications (per renewal form). Initial processing time not stated.
How much does an ABA practice license cost in Alaska?
$325 Renewal: Every 2 years · Biennial renewal: behavior analyst $100, assistant $50 (prorated $50 / $25 for licenses first issued on or after October 1, 2025). Licenses expire September 30 of even-numbered years..
How long does it take to get licensed in Alaska?
Renewal applications: plan on 4–6 weeks for complete applications (per renewal form). Initial processing time not stated.
Does Alaska require a certificate of need for an ABA practice?
Alaska has a certificate of need program covering: hospitals (including psychiatric and tuberculosis hospitals), skilled nursing facilities / nursing home beds, intermediate care facilities, residential psychiatric treatment centers, ambulatory surgical facilities, kidney disease treatment centers / freestanding dialysis, independent diagnostic testing facilities. Check whether your service is on that list.
How do you become a Medicaid provider in Alaska?
Enroll through Alaska Medicaid Health Enterprise portal (online provider enrollment) (https://www.medicaidalaska.com/), run by HMS Gainwell (Gainwell Technologies) — provider enrollment and fiscal agent services; the Health Enterprise MMIS is a Conduent system.
What does Alaska Medicaid pay a ABA practice?
Alaska Medicaid pays $31.95 per 15 min for one-on-one aba therapy by a technician, effective Jul 1, 2026, ranking 1 of 42 states.