How to start a behavioral health clinic in Connecticut
Connecticut requires a DPH license as a Psychiatric Outpatient Clinic for Adults (POCA) and/or Facility for the Care or Treatment of Substance Abusive Persons (SA); Mental Health Day Treatment (MHDT) is a separate category from Connecticut Department of Public Health — Facility Licensing and Investigations Section (FLIS), Facility Licensure Processing Unit to operate a behavioral health clinic. Fee: Under C.G.S. 19a-491(e), DPH charges $1,000 for licensing and inspection of outpatient clinics that provide medical or mental health services (municipal health departments, health districts and licensed nonprofit nursing/community health agencies excepted). Whether that line applies to a POCA or SA license specifically is not stated on the DPH page.
- License required
- YesDPH license as a Psychiatric Outpatient Clinic for Adults (POCA) and/or Facility for the Care or Treatment of Substance Abusive Persons (SA); Mental Health Day Treatment (MHDT) is a separate category
- Application fee
- See details
- Processing time
- —
- Mental health counseling
- $21.14
- Organizations in the state
- 1,371NPPES, Sep 13, 2026
On this page
Connecticut behavioral health clinic license
Connecticut requires a DPH license as a Psychiatric Outpatient Clinic for Adults (POCA) and/or Facility for the Care or Treatment of Substance Abusive Persons (SA); Mental Health Day Treatment (MHDT) is a separate category from Connecticut Department of Public Health — Facility Licensing and Investigations Section (FLIS), Facility Licensure Processing Unit to operate a behavioral health clinic. Fee: Under C.G.S. 19a-491(e), DPH charges $1,000 for licensing and inspection of outpatient clinics that provide medical or mental health services (municipal health departments, health districts and licensed nonprofit nursing/community health agencies excepted). Whether that line applies to a POCA or SA license specifically is not stated on the DPH page.
- License required
- Yes
- License
- DPH license as a Psychiatric Outpatient Clinic for Adults (POCA) and/or Facility for the Care or Treatment of Substance Abusive Persons (SA); Mental Health Day Treatment (MHDT) is a separate category
- Fee
- Under C.G.S. 19a-491(e), DPH charges $1,000 for licensing and inspection of outpatient clinics that provide medical or mental health services (municipal health departments, health districts and licensed nonprofit nursing/community health agencies excepted). Whether that line applies to a POCA or SA license specifically is not stated on the DPH page.
- Renewal
- Renewals for all license levels are handled through the Connecticut eLicense portal.
- Accreditation
- Optional; national accreditation can extend the outpatient clinic inspection cycle from three to four years (19a-491(e)).
- Survey and inspection
- Under 19a-491(e), outpatient clinic licensing and inspection happens every three years; a clinic nationally accredited within the prior 12 months may be inspected every four years if it has no violations posing an immediate threat.
- Regulation
- C.G.S. Chapter 368v (19a-490 et seq., fees at 19a-491); Regs. Conn. State Agencies 19a-495 (behavioral health facility regulations)
Steps to get licensed in Connecticut
In order, as the licensing agency describes the process.
- Email DPH FLIS (DPH.FLISLPU@ct.gov) to request an initial license application for the POCA or SA level of care
- Complete the ownership form for your entity type (partnership/LLC, trust or corporation)
- Obtain the local fire marshal's certificate and a certificate of insurance
- Submit the completed application and forms to DPH.FLISLPU@ct.gov
- Complete DPH licensing inspection; renew later through the eLicense portal
What you need to submit
5 documents listed by the licensing agency.
Enrolling as a Connecticut Medicaid provider
- Program
- Connecticut Medical Assistance Program (HUSKY Health)
- Enrollment portal
- CMAP Provider Enrollment/Re-enrollment Wizard (www.ctdssmap.com)
- Fiscal agent
- Gainwell Technologies (Provider Enrollment Unit, Hartford)
- Application fee
- Connecticut's application asks institutional providers to pay or attest to prior payment of the federal fee at enrollment, re-enrollment and when adding a service location; DSS sends a letter after submission if a fee is due. Federal rule (42 CFR 455.460): the state must collect the CMS application fee from institutional providers that are newly enrolling or re-enrolling; individual physicians and non-physician practitioners are exempt, as are providers already enrolled in (or that already paid the fee to) Medicare or another state's Medicaid/CHIP. CMS set the fee at $750 for calendar year 2026.
- Fingerprinting
- The enrollment wizard states that fingerprint-based checks apply to providers placed in the high-risk level at enrollment or re-enrollment. Federal rule (42 CFR 455.434, 455.450(c)): providers the state places in the 'high' categorical risk level, and anyone owning 5% or more of such a provider, must submit fingerprints for a criminal background check.
- Site visit
- Federal rule (42 CFR 455.432, 455.450(b)-(c)): the state must do site visits before and after enrollment for providers in the 'moderate' or 'high' risk levels, and any enrolled provider must allow unannounced on-site inspections.
- Revalidation
- Connecticut calls revalidation 're-enrollment': most provider types re-enroll every five years, with a notice letter six months before their contract ends. Federal rule (42 CFR 455.414): every enrolled provider must be revalidated at least once every 5 years.
Does Connecticut require a certificate of need?
- CON program
- Yes
- Program
- Certificate of Need
- Services covered
- new health care facilities (hospitals, specialty hospitals)
- freestanding emergency departments
- outpatient surgical facilities
- mental health facilities
- substance abuse treatment facilities
- cardiac services
- termination of hospital services
- transfers of ownership of health care facilities and large group practices
- nursing homes (DSS)
- residential facilities for persons with intellectual disability / ICF (DSS)
- Moratoria
- CGS §17b-354 bars the Department of Social Services from accepting or approving requests for additional nursing home beds, with limited exceptions (e.g., beds restricted to AIDS or neurological rehabilitation patients, certain continuing care facility beds not used for Medicaid, and Medicaid bed relocations that meet a priority need in the state strategic plan).
Connecticut wage floor
- State minimum wage
- $16.94 an hour
- Effective
- 2026-01-01
- Scheduled increases
- Rises to $17.48 on 2027-01-01 (indexed to the employment cost index).
- Rate pass-through
- PA 25-168 raises nursing home Medicaid rates to fund wage increases for nursing, aide, dietary, housekeeping, laundry and maintenance staff: 3% on 2025-07-01, 3% on 2026-07-01 and 4% on 2027-01-01. A home that takes the add-on but does not raise wages may have its rate cut by the same amount. A further pool in FY2028 is aimed first at a $26/hour CNA minimum from 2028-01-01, to the extent funds allow.
- HCBS 80/20 rule
- Federal baseline: 42 CFR 441.302(k) requires the state to show that each provider spends at least 80% of Medicaid payments for homemaker, home health aide and personal care services under 1915(c) waivers on direct care worker pay and benefits. Compliance starts 2030-07-09 (for managed care, the first rating period starting on or after that date); annual payment-adequacy reporting under 441.311(e) starts 2028-07-09. A state may set a lower share for state-defined small providers and exempt providers facing hardship, each only through a public notice-and-comment process. The eCFR text has not changed since 2024-07-09. No state-published 80/20 implementation step (small-provider criteria, hardship exemption or reporting guidance) was found for this state in the official sources reviewed.
Connecticut market size
Counts from federal public files: NPPES (active organization NPIs), CMS Care Compare and CMS Medicaid enrollment.
- Community/behavioral health agencies and mental health clinics — active organization NPIs (NPPES)
- 1,371 (as of Sep 13, 2026)
- Total Medicaid and CHIP enrollment (latest reported month)
- 895,290 (as of Jun 1, 2026)
What Connecticut Medicaid pays
Behavioral health: published Connecticut fee-for-service rates, each linked to its source.
| Service | Code | Connecticut rate | Per hour | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mental health counselingLicensed mental health clinician | H0046 | $21.14 | — | 10 of 12 |
| Outpatient psychotherapy and diagnostic evaluationLicensed mental health clinician | 90875 | $80.33 | — | 19 of 28 |
| Mental health assessment (non-physician)Physician or licensed psychologist | H0031 | $84.60 | — | 19 of 27 |
| Skills training and developmentPhysician or licensed psychologist | H2014 | $14.65per 15 min | $58.60 | 12 of 33 |
| Therapeutic behavioral servicesPhysician or licensed psychologist | H2019 | $25.86per 15 min | $103.44 | 10 of 28 |
Connecticut HCBS waivers
Medicaid home and community-based services programs that may pay for this service.
- Acquired Brain Injury (ABI) Waiver (1915(c))
- ABI II Waiver (1915(c))
- Home and Community Supports Waiver for Persons with Autism (1915(c))
- Connecticut Home Care Program for Elders — 1915(i) portion (1915(i))
- Comprehensive Supports Waiver (1915(c))
- Employment and Day Supports Waiver (1915(c))
- Home and Community Based Services Waiver for Elders (1915(c))
- Individual and Family Support Waiver (1915(c))
- Katie Beckett Waiver (1915(c))
- Mental Health Waiver (1915(c))
- Personal Care Assistance Waiver (1915(c))
Frequently asked questions
Do you need a license to start a behavioral health clinic in Connecticut?
Connecticut requires a DPH license as a Psychiatric Outpatient Clinic for Adults (POCA) and/or Facility for the Care or Treatment of Substance Abusive Persons (SA); Mental Health Day Treatment (MHDT) is a separate category from Connecticut Department of Public Health — Facility Licensing and Investigations Section (FLIS), Facility Licensure Processing Unit to operate a behavioral health clinic. Fee: Under C.G.S. 19a-491(e), DPH charges $1,000 for licensing and inspection of outpatient clinics that provide medical or mental health services (municipal health departments, health districts and licensed nonprofit nursing/community health agencies excepted). Whether that line applies to a POCA or SA license specifically is not stated on the DPH page.
How much does a behavioral health clinic license cost in Connecticut?
Under C.G.S. 19a-491(e), DPH charges $1,000 for licensing and inspection of outpatient clinics that provide medical or mental health services (municipal health departments, health districts and licensed nonprofit nursing/community health agencies excepted). Whether that line applies to a POCA or SA license specifically is not stated on the DPH page. Renewal: Renewals for all license levels are handled through the Connecticut eLicense portal..
Does Connecticut require a certificate of need for a behavioral health clinic?
Connecticut has a certificate of need program covering: new health care facilities (hospitals, specialty hospitals), freestanding emergency departments, outpatient surgical facilities, mental health facilities, substance abuse treatment facilities, cardiac services, termination of hospital services, transfers of ownership of health care facilities and large group practices, nursing homes (DSS), residential facilities for persons with intellectual disability / ICF (DSS). Check whether your service is on that list.
How do you become a Medicaid provider in Connecticut?
Enroll through CMAP Provider Enrollment/Re-enrollment Wizard (www.ctdssmap.com) (https://www.ctdssmap.com/CTPortal/Provider/Provider-Enrollment), run by Gainwell Technologies (Provider Enrollment Unit, Hartford).
What does Connecticut Medicaid pay a behavioral health clinic?
Connecticut Medicaid pays $21.14 for mental health counseling, effective Jan 1, 2026, ranking 10 of 12 states.