How to start an IDD waiver provider in Florida
Florida requires a APD license for foster care facilities, group home facilities, residential habilitation centers and adult day training programs; APD waiver provider enrollment for iBudget services from Florida Agency for Persons with Disabilities (APD); Medicaid enrollment through the Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA) to operate an IDD waiver provider. Fee: License applications must be accompanied by the license fee set by APD (amount not stated in the statute).
- License required
- YesAPD license for foster care facilities, group home facilities, residential habilitation centers and adult day training programs; APD waiver provider enrollment for iBudget services
- Application fee
- See details
- Processing time
- —
- In-home and community living supports (IDD)
- $8.99per 15 min · $35.96/hr
- Organizations in the state
- 1,052NPPES, Sep 13, 2026
On this page
Florida idd waiver provider license
Florida requires a APD license for foster care facilities, group home facilities, residential habilitation centers and adult day training programs; APD waiver provider enrollment for iBudget services from Florida Agency for Persons with Disabilities (APD); Medicaid enrollment through the Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA) to operate an IDD waiver provider. Fee: License applications must be accompanied by the license fee set by APD (amount not stated in the statute).
- License required
- Yes
- License
- APD license for foster care facilities, group home facilities, residential habilitation centers and adult day training programs; APD waiver provider enrollment for iBudget services
- Fee
- License applications must be accompanied by the license fee set by APD (amount not stated in the statute).
- Survey and inspection
- APD conducts annual inspections and reviews of licensed facilities and adult day training programs.
- Regulation
- Fla. Stat. 393.067; Fla. Admin. Code Chapter 65G-2 (licensure of residential facilities and adult day training programs)
Steps to get licensed in Florida
In order, as the licensing agency describes the process.
- For residential or adult day training services, apply to APD for a facility license on APD's form with the license fee
- Applicant, managers, supervisors and direct-care staff complete background screening before an initial or renewal license
- Apply to APD to be enrolled for specific iBudget Waiver services; then complete the AHCA Medicaid provider enrollment
Enrolling as a Florida Medicaid provider
- Program
- Florida Medicaid (Agency for Health Care Administration)
- Enrollment portal
- Florida Medicaid Web Portal (FLMMIS) — Enrollment Wizard
- Fiscal agent
- Gainwell Technologies (Florida Medicaid Web Portal / FLMMIS)
- Application fee
- Federal rule (42 CFR 455.460): the state must collect the CMS application fee from institutional providers that are newly enrolling or re-enrolling; individual physicians and non-physician practitioners are exempt, as are providers already enrolled in (or that already paid the fee to) Medicare or another state's Medicaid/CHIP. CMS set the fee at $750 for calendar year 2026.
- Fingerprinting
- Florida also requires Level 2 background screening (fingerprint-based, under s. 408.809, F.S.) as part of enrollment and revalidation. Federal rule (42 CFR 455.434, 455.450(c)): providers the state places in the 'high' categorical risk level, and anyone owning 5% or more of such a provider, must submit fingerprints for a criminal background check.
- Site visit
- AHCA assigns each provider type a limited, moderate or high risk level under 42 CFR 455.450. Federal rule (42 CFR 455.432, 455.450(b)-(c)): the state must do site visits before and after enrollment for providers in the 'moderate' or 'high' risk levels, and any enrolled provider must allow unannounced on-site inspections.
- Revalidation
- Florida calls revalidation 'renewal': AHCA re-enrolls every provider at least every five years, mailing a notice about 90 days before the provider agreement expires. Claims suspend if the online renewal is not finished by the expiration date. Federal rule (42 CFR 455.414): every enrolled provider must be revalidated at least once every 5 years.
Does Florida require a certificate of need?
- CON program
- Yes
- Program
- Certificate of Need
- Services covered
- community nursing homes / skilled nursing facility beds
- hospice programs and hospice inpatient facilities
- intermediate care facilities for the developmentally disabled (ICF/DD)
- conversion from one type of covered facility to another
Electronic visit verification in Florida
- Model
- hybrid
- State vendor
- HHAeXchange (fee-for-service, from 2024-10-01; Netsmart before)
- Services in scope
- personal care
- home health
- private duty nursing
- Alternate EVV allowed
- Yes
Florida wage floor
- State minimum wage
- $15.00 an hour
- Effective
- 2026-09-30
- Scheduled increases
- Stays $15.00 from 2026-09-30 through 2027-12-31; annual inflation adjustments resume with a September 2027 calculation that takes effect the following January 1.
- Direct-care wage floor
- The 2022-23 General Appropriations Act funded Medicaid fee schedule and managed care rate increases for the sole purpose of raising wages of Medicaid providers' direct care employees (including 1099 workers) to at least $15/hour.
- HCBS 80/20 rule
- Federal baseline: 42 CFR 441.302(k) requires the state to show that each provider spends at least 80% of Medicaid payments for homemaker, home health aide and personal care services under 1915(c) waivers on direct care worker pay and benefits. Compliance starts 2030-07-09 (for managed care, the first rating period starting on or after that date); annual payment-adequacy reporting under 441.311(e) starts 2028-07-09. A state may set a lower share for state-defined small providers and exempt providers facing hardship, each only through a public notice-and-comment process. The eCFR text has not changed since 2024-07-09. No state-published 80/20 implementation step (small-provider criteria, hardship exemption or reporting guidance) was found for this state in the official sources reviewed.
Florida market size
Counts from federal public files: NPPES (active organization NPIs), CMS Care Compare and CMS Medicaid enrollment.
- Intellectual/developmental disability residential facilities — active organization NPIs (NPPES)
- 1,052 (as of Sep 13, 2026)
- Total Medicaid and CHIP enrollment (latest reported month)
- 3,565,369 (as of Jun 1, 2026)
What Florida Medicaid pays
Intellectual & developmental disabilities: published Florida fee-for-service rates, each linked to its source.
| Service | Code | Florida rate | Per hour | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| In-home and community living supports (IDD)Agency provider | 97535 | $8.99per 15 min | $35.96 | 14 of 29 |
| Community integration / community access (IDD)Agency provider | S5135 | $4.44per 15 min | $17.76 | 18 of 22 |
| Day habilitation / day program (IDD)Agency provider | S5102 | $22.71per hour | $22.71 | 17 of 32 |
| Prevocational servicesAgency provider | T2015 | $22.71per hour | $22.71 | 11 of 28 |
| Residential habilitation / group home supportsAgency provider | H0043 | $332.76per day | — | 13 of 31 |
Florida HCBS waivers
Medicaid home and community-based services programs that may pay for this service.
- Familial Dysautonomia Waiver (1915(c))
- Developmental Disabilities Individual Budgeting Waiver (1915(c))
- Comprehensive Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Managed Care Pilot Program (1915(c))
- Long-Term Care Waiver (1915(c))
- Model Waiver (1915(c))
Frequently asked questions
Do you need a license to start an IDD waiver provider in Florida?
Florida requires a APD license for foster care facilities, group home facilities, residential habilitation centers and adult day training programs; APD waiver provider enrollment for iBudget services from Florida Agency for Persons with Disabilities (APD); Medicaid enrollment through the Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA) to operate an IDD waiver provider. Fee: License applications must be accompanied by the license fee set by APD (amount not stated in the statute).
How much does an IDD waiver provider license cost in Florida?
License applications must be accompanied by the license fee set by APD (amount not stated in the statute).
Does Florida require a certificate of need for an IDD waiver provider?
Florida has a certificate of need program covering: community nursing homes / skilled nursing facility beds, hospice programs and hospice inpatient facilities, intermediate care facilities for the developmentally disabled (ICF/DD), conversion from one type of covered facility to another. Check whether your service is on that list.
How do you become a Medicaid provider in Florida?
Enroll through Florida Medicaid Web Portal (FLMMIS) — Enrollment Wizard (https://portal.flmmis.com/FLPublic/Provider_ProviderServices/Provider_Enrollment/tabId/42/Default.aspx), run by Gainwell Technologies (Florida Medicaid Web Portal / FLMMIS).
What does Florida Medicaid pay a IDD waiver provider?
Florida Medicaid pays $8.99 per 15 min for in-home and community living supports (idd), effective Jul 1, 2026, ranking 14 of 29 states.