How to start a hospice in North Carolina
North Carolina requires a Hospice agency license (each site separately licensed; may be part of a multi-program home care license) from North Carolina DHHS, Division of Health Service Regulation, Acute and Home Care Licensure and Certification Section to operate a hospice. Fee: The appropriate licensure fee must accompany the application; amount not stated on the DHSR procedure page. Processing time: CON review: written comments within 30 days of review start, public hearing at 30-50 days, decision within 150 days; the CON issues 35 days after approval if no contested-case petition.
- License required
- YesHospice agency license (each site separately licensed; may be part of a multi-program home care license)
- Application fee
- See details
- Processing time
- —
- Hospice routine home care (daily)
- $186.00
- Organizations in the state
- 280NPPES, Sep 13, 2026
On this page
North Carolina hospice license
North Carolina requires a Hospice agency license (each site separately licensed; may be part of a multi-program home care license) from North Carolina DHHS, Division of Health Service Regulation, Acute and Home Care Licensure and Certification Section to operate a hospice. Fee: The appropriate licensure fee must accompany the application; amount not stated on the DHSR procedure page. Processing time: CON review: written comments within 30 days of review start, public hearing at 30-50 days, decision within 150 days; the CON issues 35 days after approval if no contested-case petition.
- License required
- Yes
- License
- Hospice agency license (each site separately licensed; may be part of a multi-program home care license)
- Issuing agency
- North Carolina DHHS, Division of Health Service Regulation, Acute and Home Care Licensure and Certification Section
- Fee
- The appropriate licensure fee must accompany the application; amount not stated on the DHSR procedure page.
- Processing time
- CON review: written comments within 30 days of review start, public hearing at 30-50 days, decision within 150 days; the CON issues 35 days after approval if no contested-case petition.
- Certificate of need
- Required
- Medicare certification
- Medicare certification is separate from the state license (state survey or CMS-approved accreditor). CMS imposed a nationwide 6-month moratorium on new Medicare hospice enrollments (including new practice locations) effective 2026-05-13, extendable in 6-month increments; applications received by the Medicare contractor before that date are still processed, accreditation cannot be used for deemed-status entry during the moratorium, and a hospice undergoing a non-exempt ownership change within 36 months of enrollment must re-enroll as new and is therefore blocked. The federal notice leaves Medicaid/CHIP hospice moratoria to each state.
- Regulation
- N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 131E-200 to 131E-207; 10A NCAC 13K (hospice licensure); N.C. CON law (G.S. 131E Art. 9) and State Medical Facilities Plan
Steps to get licensed in North Carolina
In order, as the licensing agency describes the process.
- Check the annual State Medical Facilities Plan (SMFP) for a projected need for a hospice agency in the county; no CON can issue without a need
- Apply for a Certificate of Need on the SMFP review schedule
- After the CON issues, request and submit the multi-purpose license application to the Acute and Home Care Licensure and Certification Section
- Pass the initial on-site licensure survey and receive the license
- For Medicare/Medicaid, request the certification packet, complete CMS-855 with the fiscal intermediary, and request the certification survey
Enrolling as a North Carolina Medicaid provider
- Program
- NC Medicaid (NCDHHS Division of Health Benefits), including NC Medicaid Managed Care
- Enrollment portal
- NCTracks Provider Portal
- Fiscal agent
- GDIT (NCTracks; the enrollment page still lists the call center under the firm name CSRA)
- Application fee
- North Carolina charges a $100 NC Medicaid Provider Application Fee on enrollment and on revalidation/reverification applications. It was waived from late 2021 to June 30, 2023 and reinstated July 1, 2023. Institutional provider types also pay the federal fee, which NCTracks lists as $750 for 2026. Under the federal rule (42 CFR 455.460), institutional providers pay the CMS application fee when they first enroll, re-enroll or revalidate. The fee is $750 for calendar year 2026. Individual physicians and non-physician practitioners do not pay it. A fee already paid to Medicare or to another state's Medicaid program counts.
- Fingerprinting
- Fingerprint-based criminal background checks are required for all high-risk providers and for anyone owning 5% or more of one. Fingerprints already on file with Medicare (confirmed in PECOS) can be accepted unless the provider was moved up to high risk. A provider is moved to high risk after a fraud-based payment suspension, an overpayment, an exclusion, or a similar trigger. Under federal rules (42 CFR 455.434 and 455.450), the state places provider types in 'limited', 'moderate' or 'high' risk levels. High-risk providers, and anyone who owns 5% or more of one, must submit fingerprints for a criminal background check.
- Site visit
- Under federal rule (42 CFR 455.432), the state must visit moderate- and high-risk providers before and after enrollment. Every enrolled provider must allow unannounced on-site inspections. The NCTracks pages we reviewed do not give a state list of provider types that get site visits.
- Revalidation
- NC calls revalidation 'recredentialing' or 'reverification'. It is due every five years, and NC law requires the $100 fee each time. Providers get notices in the NCTracks message inbox, with reminders 50, 20 and 5 days before the due date if they have not applied. A provider who misses the due date is suspended from Medicaid. Recredentialing includes a criminal background check on all owners and managing relationships. Time-limited enrollees, such as out-of-state providers, are exempt.
Does North Carolina require a certificate of need?
- For this business
- Required (licensing source)
- CON program
- Yes
- Program
- Certificate of Need
- Services covered
- new health service facilities (hospitals, nursing homes, adult care homes, kidney disease treatment centers, long-term care hospitals, psychiatric and chemical dependency facilities as defined)
- changes in bed capacity
- capital expenditures over $4,000,000 to develop or expand a health service
- dialysis and home health services new to a facility
- home health agency and hospice offices; hospice, hospice inpatient and hospice residential facilities
- major medical equipment over $2,000,000 and specified services (e.g., MRI only in counties of 125,000 or fewer)
- operating rooms and GI endoscopy rooms; specialty-to-multispecialty ASC conversions
- relocation between service areas; mobile medical equipment
North Carolina wage floor
- State minimum wage
- $7.25 an hour
- Effective
- 2009-07-24
- Scheduled increases
- No scheduled change found in the official sources reviewed.
- Rate pass-through
- SL 2023-134, s. 9E.15 raised Innovations waiver rates to fund direct care worker wage increases. To get the increase, each provider files an attestation with its LME/MCO, reports at the end of the state fiscal year on how the funds were used, and keeps its own documentation showing it met the legislative requirements.
- HCBS 80/20 rule
- Federal baseline: 42 CFR 441.302(k) requires the state to show that each provider spends at least 80% of Medicaid payments for homemaker, home health aide and personal care services under 1915(c) waivers on direct care worker pay and benefits. Compliance starts 2030-07-09 (for managed care, the first rating period starting on or after that date); annual payment-adequacy reporting under 441.311(e) starts 2028-07-09. A state may set a lower share for state-defined small providers and exempt providers facing hardship, each only through a public notice-and-comment process. The eCFR text has not changed since 2024-07-09. No state-published 80/20 implementation step (small-provider criteria, hardship exemption or reporting guidance) was found for this state in the official sources reviewed.
North Carolina market size
Counts from federal public files: NPPES (active organization NPIs), CMS Care Compare and CMS Medicaid enrollment.
- Hospice agencies (community based) — active organization NPIs (NPPES)
- 280 (as of Sep 13, 2026)
- Medicare-certified hospices (CMS Care Compare)
- 76 (as of Aug 19, 2026)
- Total Medicaid and CHIP enrollment (latest reported month)
- 2,811,382 (as of Jun 1, 2026)
What North Carolina Medicaid pays
Hospice: published North Carolina fee-for-service rates, each linked to its source.
| Service | Code | North Carolina rate | Per hour | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hospice routine home care (daily) | 0651 | $186.00 | — | — |
| Hospice continuous home care (hourly)Registered nurse | 0652 | $66.94per hour | — | — |
| Hospice inpatient respite (daily) | 0655 | $542.16per day | — | 8 of 19 |
| Hospice general inpatient care (daily) | 0656 | $1,159.02per day | — | 9 of 18 |
| Hospice end-of-life visit add-on (per hour)Registered nurse | 0235 | $66.93per 15 min increments | — | — |
Frequently asked questions
Do you need a license to start a hospice in North Carolina?
North Carolina requires a Hospice agency license (each site separately licensed; may be part of a multi-program home care license) from North Carolina DHHS, Division of Health Service Regulation, Acute and Home Care Licensure and Certification Section to operate a hospice. Fee: The appropriate licensure fee must accompany the application; amount not stated on the DHSR procedure page. Processing time: CON review: written comments within 30 days of review start, public hearing at 30-50 days, decision within 150 days; the CON issues 35 days after approval if no contested-case petition.
How much does a hospice license cost in North Carolina?
The appropriate licensure fee must accompany the application; amount not stated on the DHSR procedure page.
How long does it take to get licensed in North Carolina?
CON review: written comments within 30 days of review start, public hearing at 30-50 days, decision within 150 days; the CON issues 35 days after approval if no contested-case petition.
Does North Carolina require a certificate of need for a hospice?
Yes, according to the licensing source. North Carolina's CON program covers: new health service facilities (hospitals, nursing homes, adult care homes, kidney disease treatment centers, long-term care hospitals, psychiatric and chemical dependency facilities as defined), changes in bed capacity, capital expenditures over $4,000,000 to develop or expand a health service, dialysis and home health services new to a facility, home health agency and hospice offices; hospice, hospice inpatient and hospice residential facilities, major medical equipment over $2,000,000 and specified services (e.g., MRI only in counties of 125,000 or fewer), operating rooms and GI endoscopy rooms; specialty-to-multispecialty ASC conversions, relocation between service areas; mobile medical equipment.
How do you become a Medicaid provider in North Carolina?
Enroll through NCTracks Provider Portal (https://www.nctracks.nc.gov/content/public/providers/provider-enrollment.html), run by GDIT (NCTracks; the enrollment page still lists the call center under the firm name CSRA).
What does North Carolina Medicaid pay a hospice?
North Carolina Medicaid pays $186.00 for hospice routine home care (daily), effective Oct 1, 2026.