Skip to content
Start a business · Hospice · North Dakota

How to start a hospice in North Dakota

North Dakota requires a Hospice program license (also residential hospice facility) from North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Health Facilities Unit to operate a hospice. Fee: A uniform license fee set by the department; amount not stated in the statute.

Verified Oct 6, 2026Sources: state agencies, CMS and OIG

License required
YesHospice program license (also residential hospice facility)
Application fee
See details
Processing time
—
Medicaid rate
—
Organizations in the state
38NPPES, Sep 13, 2026
On this page
Licensing

North Dakota hospice license

North Dakota requires a Hospice program license (also residential hospice facility) from North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Health Facilities Unit to operate a hospice. Fee: A uniform license fee set by the department; amount not stated in the statute.

License required
Yes
License
Hospice program license (also residential hospice facility)
Fee
A uniform license fee set by the department; amount not stated in the statute.
Renewal
Every year
Survey and inspection
The department inspects before issuing or renewing a license, coordinating with other licensing inspections where possible.
Medicare certification
Medicare certification is separate from the state license (state survey or CMS-approved accreditor). CMS imposed a nationwide 6-month moratorium on new Medicare hospice enrollments (including new practice locations) effective 2026-05-13, extendable in 6-month increments; applications received by the Medicare contractor before that date are still processed, accreditation cannot be used for deemed-status entry during the moratorium, and a hospice undergoing a non-exempt ownership change within 36 months of enrollment must re-enroll as new and is therefore blocked. The federal notice leaves Medicaid/CHIP hospice moratoria to each state.
Regulation
N.D. Cent. Code ch. 23-17.4; N.D. Admin. Code ch. 33-03-15 (Licensing Rules for Hospice Programs)
How to apply

Steps to get licensed in North Dakota

In order, as the licensing agency describes the process.

  1. Apply on department forms with a hospice service plan, financial statement and the uniform license fee
  2. Pass the department's pre-licensure inspection
  3. Receive a license (valid only for the named premises/person; not transferable)
  4. Renew annually (renewal also requires inspection)
Documents

What you need to submit

3 documents listed by the licensing agency.

Document
Application form
Hospice service plan: administratively responsible persons and affiliations, estimated monthly census, service area, direct vs. contracted services, contractor and direct-staff qualifications, volunteer plan, recordkeeping system
Financial statement
See the full checklist — start free

Every document for every state, with sources, side by side and exportable.

  • Full checklist
  • Every state
  • CSV export
Medicaid

Enrolling as a North Dakota Medicaid provider

Program
North Dakota Medicaid (ND Health and Human Services, Medical Services Division), including Medicaid Expansion
Fiscal agent
Noridian Healthcare Solutions (provider enrollment contractor for every provider type except Qualified Service Providers)
Application fee
Under the federal rule (42 CFR 455.460), institutional providers pay the CMS application fee when they first enroll, re-enroll or revalidate. The fee is $750 for calendar year 2026. Individual physicians and non-physician practitioners do not pay it. A fee already paid to Medicare or to another state's Medicaid program counts. ND HHS's enrollment page does not list a separate state fee.
Fingerprinting
Under federal rules (42 CFR 455.434 and 455.450), the state places provider types in 'limited', 'moderate' or 'high' risk levels. High-risk providers, and anyone who owns 5% or more of one, must submit fingerprints for a criminal background check. ND HHS's enrollment page does not list high-risk provider types. It does collect ownership and controlling-interest conviction information on form SFN 1168.
Site visit
Under federal rule (42 CFR 455.432), the state must visit moderate- and high-risk providers before and after enrollment. Every enrolled provider must allow unannounced on-site inspections. ND HHS's enrollment page does not describe a separate state site visit process.
Revalidation
All provider records revalidate at least every five years; DME suppliers every three years. ND HHS posts a list of providers with upcoming or past-due revalidations. If the group or individual is actively enrolled in Medicare, ND Medicaid relies on Medicare's screening to speed things up. If not, the provider repeats the application-requirement and Noridian-submission steps.

Full North Dakota Medicaid enrollment guide →

Certificate of need

Does North Dakota require a certificate of need?

CON program
No
Moratoria
Nursing facility beds may not be added to the state's licensed bed capacity between August 1, 2025 and July 31, 2029, except when a facility reverts basic care beds to nursing beds or relicenses beds delicensed after July 31, 2011. Licensed bed capacity may be transferred between entities, and a facility may reconfigure its nursing bed capacity no more than twice in 12 months (NDCC 23-16-01.1).

North Dakota certificate of need details →

Labor

North Dakota wage floor

State minimum wage
$7.25 an hour
Effective
2009-07-24
Scheduled increases
No scheduled change found in the official sources reviewed.
HCBS 80/20 rule
Federal baseline: 42 CFR 441.302(k) requires the state to show that each provider spends at least 80% of Medicaid payments for homemaker, home health aide and personal care services under 1915(c) waivers on direct care worker pay and benefits. Compliance starts 2030-07-09 (for managed care, the first rating period starting on or after that date); annual payment-adequacy reporting under 441.311(e) starts 2028-07-09. A state may set a lower share for state-defined small providers and exempt providers facing hardship, each only through a public notice-and-comment process. The eCFR text has not changed since 2024-07-09. No state-published 80/20 implementation step (small-provider criteria, hardship exemption or reporting guidance) was found for this state in the official sources reviewed.
Market

North Dakota market size

Counts from federal public files: NPPES (active organization NPIs), CMS Care Compare and CMS Medicaid enrollment.

Hospice agencies (community based) — active organization NPIs (NPPES)
38 (as of Sep 13, 2026)
Medicare-certified hospices (CMS Care Compare)
13 (as of Aug 19, 2026)
Total Medicaid and CHIP enrollment (latest reported month)
104,194 (as of Jun 1, 2026)
Rates

What North Dakota Medicaid pays

Hospice: published North Dakota fee-for-service rates, each linked to its source.

North Dakota Medicaid rates for this service: being compiledWe publish a state's details only once they are confirmed against the official source, with links to it. This state's record is still being researched.
FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a license to start a hospice in North Dakota?

North Dakota requires a Hospice program license (also residential hospice facility) from North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Health Facilities Unit to operate a hospice. Fee: A uniform license fee set by the department; amount not stated in the statute.

How much does a hospice license cost in North Dakota?

A uniform license fee set by the department; amount not stated in the statute. Renewal: Every year.

Does North Dakota require a certificate of need for a hospice?

No. North Dakota has no certificate of need program.

How do you become a Medicaid provider in North Dakota?

Enroll through ND Health Enterprise MMIS Web Portal (https://www.hhs.nd.gov/healthcare/medicaid/provider/enrollment-information), run by Noridian Healthcare Solutions (provider enrollment contractor for every provider type except Qualified Service Providers).